Food / Halal / Ingredients / Issue / Non-Halal

9 Types of E-Numbers You Should Know by Now

what-is-e-numbers

Some time ago, there were rumours talking about how E-numbers indicate that a product contains traces of pork. So, whenever a product has an E-number on it, it will instantly be flagged as Non-halal for Muslims!

However, Halal Buddy wants to clear this up once and for all. There’s no need to be alarmed about E-numbers: they are just codes for food additives.


Are E-numbers and Food Additives Related?

Simple. E-numbers ARE food additives. Food additives are used to enhance the colour, flavour, texture or prevent food from spoiling. Examples of additives are sweeteners, food colourings, enhancers, emulsifiers and more.

On the other hand, the ‘E’ on ‘E-numbers’ stands for ‘Europe’. An ‘E-number’ indicates that an additive has already passed safety tests and approved for use by the European Union (EU). In some countries there’s no ‘E’, just the code number. Whether it’s Halal or Non-Halal is another story entirely.

In the 1960s, regulatory bodies decided to make a standardised list of all the food additives in the world. Imagine turmeric for example, it would be called turmeric in New York, kunyit in Kuala Lumpur and manjal in Ramanathapuram. So, to make things easier for all, the regulatory bodies said, “Hey, let’s just make a standardised code for food additives. This way everyone will know what ingredient we’re talking about in the labels”. And so, in 1983 the E-number is born.

Sadly though, now rumours are E-numbers means pork. If you’re one of those people who’ve spread that E-numbers are pork, shame on you. Time to learn something new, buddy.


How do I Read These E-Numbers?

We can actually categorize these E-numbers into 9 types:

e-numbers

e-numbers

e-numbers

e-numbers

e-numbers

e-numbers

e-numbers

e-numberse-numbers


You Should Watch Out for These E-Numbers

Like all food, there will be Halal and Non-Halal E-numbers. We just need to know which ones to be careful about. For example:

e-numbers

Please remember that even though the ingredients mentioned above are already a red flag, it is still possible for them to be Halal. Did you know that gelatine can either be Halal or Non-halal?

Now with your newfound knowledge, you’ll certainly feel safer when going out shopping. Especially if you’re travelling and you’re on a tight budget, you’ll get your groceries and snacks in the supermarket. Some countries do not have a Halal Certification Body, so you would have to check the ingredients yourself. It’s no problem! All you have to do is to remember all 500+ or so codes for the food additives… wait, what?

Download and install Halal Buddy, guys. It could save you a buttload of time.

halal-buddy


Want more halal info like this?

share-halal-buddy

Download the Halal Buddy app for FREE

You might also like...

Fashion / Halal / Non-Halal / Tips

3 Simple Ways to Recognise Pigskin Leather

recognise-pigskin-leather

Why is Pigskin Leather Haram in Islam? It's a difficult task to recognise pigskin leather you don’t know what you’re looking for...

Dining / Food / Halal / Restaurant / Travel

Halal Buddy Eats: House of Kambing

house-of-kambing

House of Kambing: Malaysia's First Grillhouse Ranch House of Kambing is located smack in the middle of MAEPS, a lush green meadow in S...

No comments

Leave a comment